Skip to content

Meet the Board

The Baker Center Board is comprised of individuals from business, government, and law, some of whom worked with Sen. Baker in the past, and recent additions, including a former Baker Scholar.



Dr. Michael Adams
President Emeritus, University of Georgia

Ms. Cynthia Baker
Former VP, Tribune Broadcasting, Inc., Washington, DC

Mr. Patrick Butler
President and CEO, Association of Public Television Stations, former VP of Washington Post

Dr. Jimmy Cheek
Chancellor Emeritus, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Dr. Wayne Davis
Interim Chancellor, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Mr. David Golden
Senior Vice President, Eastman

Mr. Thomas Griscom
Retired Executive Editor, Chattanooga Times Free Press, former Director of Communications, President Ronald Reagan, Chattanooga, TN

Mr. James Haslam, II
Chairman, Founder, Pilot Corporation, Member, UT Board of Trustees, Knoxville, TN

Mr. William Johnson
President and CEO, Tennessee Valley Authority

Dr. Theresa Lee
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Amb. Margaret Scobey
Former Ambassador to Syria and Egypt

Mr. Don C. Stansberry, Jr.
Attorney (retired), Stansberry, Petroff, Marcum & Blakley; business advisor and real estate developer; UT Board of Trustees, Huntsville, TN

The Honorable Don Sundquist
Former Governor of Tennessee & US Congressman, Townsend, TN

Mr. John Tolsma
Founder, Knowledge Launch

Dr. Thomas Zacharia
Director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory