Skip to content

Congratulations to all of our Baker Graduates!

Pictured L to R –  Back row:  Dr. Brandon Prins, Chase Pritchett, Justin Hickerson, Zachariah Hethmon, Taylor Odle, Dr. Matt Murray, Kelsey Parkman, Dr. Bill Park, Dr. Nissa Dahlin-Brown. Front row:  Hannah Bailey, Charleigh Cagle, David Clark, Lisa Dicker, Abigail McKamey, Chris Schwartz, Amanda Tranum. 

On Thursday, May 8, 2014, the Baker Center and a room full of proud parents and family members honored 12 graduating undergraduate students who were actively engaged as Baker Scholars and/or Baker Ambassadors. The graduating Baker Scholars were awarded a medal to celebrate the completion of an independent research project that concerns a policy issue of their choice. Baker Ambassadors were presented with graduation cords as a parting gift of thanks for their service in developing student programs and promoting civic engagement of all UT students.

Please see the attached program for a brief look at these great UT graduates and their work with the Baker Center: Sr.REc_.Ceremony.2104.FINAL_.  A copy of the final Scholar reports will be provided on our website.

Baker Scholars Honorees:

Lisa Dicker

Honors Political Science and Asian Studies, with minors in Chinese, Religious Studies, and Philosophy

Lisa will attend Harvard Law School in Fall 2014.

Zachariah Hethmon

Economics with a collateral in Quantitative Economics and Mathematics and minors in French and Physics

Zach will pursue a Master’s Degree in Mathematics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Justin Hickerson

Honors Political Science with a minor in Communication Studies

Justin will attend Belmont University College of Law in Fall 2014.

Abigail McKamey

College Scholars-Economics and Education Policy

Abigail will teach in Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools, helping to start the Nashville Academy of Computer Science charter school and pursue a Master’s Degree in Education from David Lipscomb University.

Taylor Odle

College Scholars-Leadership, Organizational Behavior and Higher Education Administration

Taylor will attend Vanderbilt University as a Dean’s Scholar to pursue a Master’s of Education in Higher Education Administration with concentrations in Student Affairs and Higher Education Policy.

Kelsey Parkman

Political Science

Kelsey plans to pursue a Master’s Degree in Public Health and a Registered Dietician degree in the Fall of 2015.

Chase Pritchett

Economics with collateral in Business Analytics

Chase will begin work at SunTrust bank in Nashville as a Wholesale Banking Analyst. Chase plans to pursue graduate school in business or public policy in the future.

Baker Ambassadors Honorees:

Hannah Bailey

Honors Political Science

Hannah will join the 2014 Oklahoma Teach for America Corp. She will later pursue graduate school.

Charleigh Cagle

Political Science with a minor in Environmental Studies

Charleigh hopes to work during the year following graduation before pursuing a Master’s Degree in Environmental Policy.

David Clark

Political Science with a minor in History

David plans to continue his education at UT, pursuing a Master’s in Policy and Public Administration.

Lisa Dicker

Abigail McKamey

Christopher Schwartz

Economics and History

Chris will work during the summer as a research assistant at the Construction Industry Research Policy Center (CIRPC) on campus and is looking for a career in the field of economics.

Amanda Tranum

Honors Political Science with a Public Administration Concentration

Amanda plans to take a gap year to work and travel before applying to law school for Fall 2015.


Special ThanksAll of us at the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy are extremely proud of our Baker students.  From those who started with us as Freshmen Learning Community members, to those who joined as Baker Ambassadors and/or Baker Scholars — we are so proud of you and wish you all the best in the future.  Congratulations Graduates!

—  Dr. Matt Murray, Director; Dr. Nissa Dahlin-Brown, Associate Director; Dr. Bill Parks, Undergraduate Academic Director; Dr. Charles Sims, Baker Center Faculty Fellow; Jay Cooley, Business Manager; and Elizabeth Woody, Office Manager — May 2014

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.