Skip to content

 Dr. Wiegand and Dr. Prins Named Co-Editor-in-Chief of International Studies Quarterly Journal

wiegandPrinsDr. Krista Wiegand, Director of the Global Security Program, and Dr. Brandon Prins, a Global Security Fellow, have been named co-editor-in-chiefs of the International Studies Quarterly. Published by the Oxford University Press, the International Studies Quarterly is a flagship journal of the International Studies Association (ISA). The ISA is one of the oldest interdisciplinary associations dedicated to understanding international, transnational, and global affairs. It has over 7,000 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association dedicated to international studies.

As the flagship journal of the International Studies Association, the journal seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies. The journal receives up to 700 manuscript submissions per year, making it one of the most sought after publishings and one of the top journals in international relations.

The administrative offices of the International Studies Quarterly will be housed in the Baker Center, in partnership with the Department of Political Science. Dr. Wiegand and Dr. Prins will be responsible for determining the content of the issues in the journal and will be assisted by an editorial team made up of individuals from throughout the world. Those include Pinar Bilgin, Bilkent University, Turkey; Ajin Choi, Yonsei University, South Korea; Theo Farrell, University of Wollongong, Australia; Courtney Hillebrecht, University of Nebraska, USA; Wonjae Hwang, University of Tennessee, USA; Brian Phillips, CIDE, Mexico;  Laura Shepherd, University of Sydney, Australia; and Robert Trager, UCLA, USA.

Additionally, Dr. Krista Wiegand is now the second woman to be an editor-in-chief of the scholarly journal.

The current lead editor is Dan Nexon from Georgetown University. The journal will move from there to the University of Tennessee, and the team, led by Dr. Wiegand and Dr. Prins, will officially take over in January 2019.

View the official announcement here.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.